Our Team

Our Team

The tight-knit team at Eastwoodhill works across all aspects of the Arboretum – keeping it looking great for visitors year-round. Find out a little more about us…

The Trust Board of Eastwoodhill

The Trust Board represents six nominators as set down in the 1975 Act, each for a three-year term. The Board meets every two months and the chairperson is appointed annually from within the board.

Photo above clockwise from top left: John Clarke, Patrick Willock, Peter Jackman, Pru Roberts, Jane Williams (Chair), Susan Kemp.

The Board works to a strategic plan written every three years and through which they define the mission and vision of Eastwoodhill.

Mission Statement

…to develop and exhibit a collection of diverse plant species that contributes to the conservation of global diversity and creates a unique environment for the appreciation of life.

Through partnerships with research institutions and a unique geographic location, we serve as an arboreal ark, a safe haven for threatened trees and an inspiring place for research and education.

The Current Board

Jane Williams; Chairperson, Poverty Bay Horticulture representative (2014)

Peter Jackman; NZ Farm Forestry representative (2008)

Susan Kemp; Williams family representative (2018)

John Clarke; Ministry of Conservation representative (2007)

Pru Roberts; Friends of Eastwoodhill representative (2008)

Patrick Willock; Gisborne District Council representative (2012)


EWH will be cherished locally and recognised internationally for the beauty and diversity of its collection, education programmes, dedication to conservation, and its ability to build communities of support for the Arboretum, whilst cultivating the bond between people trees and plants.

The Team on the Ground

The Team on the Ground