Our Team

The  tight-knit team at Eastwoodhill works across all aspects of the Arboretum - keeping it looking great for visitors year-round.

Find out a little more about us...


Marion Nicholas - Manager

Marion joined the Eastwoodhill team in September 2016. She has been a friend and volunteer of Eastwoodhill for a number of years and is enjoying working full time in such beautiful surroundings.

Marion is a local lady with an extensive background in banking and retail management. She is passionate about gardening and has had experience in a retail garden centre.

IMG 6732Edited


Dan Taylor - Acting Curator

Daniel Taylor began working at Eastwoodhill in November 2015.  Dan has come from Wellington where he completed his qualification in Amenity Horticulture.

When Dan isn't chasing the Autumn leaves you will find him out in the Arboretum tending the trees and shrubs.


Adam Greaves - Arboretum Maintenance

Adam Greaves has lived in Gisborne his entire life and joined the team in November 2015.  Bringing with him 12 years experience in his career as a farm general and driver operator before moving into open space management, gaining a Level 3 Turf Management qualification. Adam saw the opportunity to return to working rurally which is his passion.

Working in the Arboretum is the perfect opportunity to combine his interests and skills while expanding his knowledge further.  He has always had an interest in conservation and likes to have variation in a job where he gets to do a range of tasks. 

Adam is very happy to be part of the team working towards the vision for the future of Eastwoodhill.


Marg Sherratt - Education & Membership co-ordinator

Marg comes with a local farming and horticulture background.  She spent 20 years growing and exporting sweat pea seed to England and is now enjoying working at Eastwoodhill Arboretum meeting and working with wonderful people from all walks of life.





The Trust Board represents six nominators as set down in the 1975 Act, each for a three-year term. The Board meets every two months and the chairperson is appointed annually from within the board.


The current board is as follows…

Jane Williams; Chairperson, Poverty Bay Horticulture representative (2014)

Peter Jackman; NZ Farm Forestry representative (2008)

Susan Kemp; Williams family representative (2018)

John Clarke; Ministry of Conservation representative (2007)

Pru Roberts; Friends of Eastwoodhill representative (2008)

Patrick Willock; Gisborne District Council representative (2012)


The Board works to a strategic plan written every three years and through which they define the mission and vision of Eastwoodhill.


Mission Statement

…to develop and exhibit a collection of diverse plant species that contributes to the conservation of global diversity and creates a unique environment for the appreciation of life.

Through partnerships with research institutions and a unique geographic location, we serve as an arboreal ark, a safe haven for threatened trees and an inspiring place for research and education.



EWH will be cherished locally and recognised internationally for the beauty and diversity of its collection, education programmes, dedication to conservation, and its ability to build communities of support for the Arboretum, whilst cultivating the bond between people trees and plants.